## Cedar Rapids Athletic Officials Association

## 2008 Fall Newsletter

Seventy-Second Annual Awards Dinner: Everyone is invited to attend the Awards Banquet on Thursday, April 16, 2009, with cocktails at 6:15 p.m. and dinner around 7:00 p.m. Location: Touch of Class. There will be a cash bar. The featured speaker is TBA. A reminder that one meal is free with your membership. The cost for your guest's meal will be \$20.00. More information will be forwarded after the basketball season.

Plan to attend the Fall Business Meeting: The meeting will be held Wednesday November 5th, at Washington High School at 7:00 p.m., Cafeteria. Remember you MUST attend one business meeting either-- this meeting or the spring meeting!

**Top Test Scores:** The top Football Part II test score went to Jeff Drahozal with 99 and Bob Varian (98) and Steve Hamilton (97). Thirty-five officials had 90+. Thirty-one officials scored 80+. Seven officials had 70+. One official failed the test. Eight officials have not taken the test. The highest test score for applying officials was William Cooper with 99.

Longevity Awards: The following officials will be recognized at the banquet for longevity to CRAOA: 30-years--Dick Pohorsky (FB). 20-years--Jeff Frese (BB), Steve Hamilton (FB), Dan Hilby (FB), Ron Peiffer (BB & FB), Paul Schuetz (FB). 15-years--Charles Porter (BB). 10-years--Bill Utterbach (FB). 5-years--Cory Burkle (BB), Steve Cooper (BB), Kevin Flood (BB), Brent Gasper (FB), Fred Griffiths (FB & BB), Curt Olson (FB), Pat St. John (FB), Ron Van Hoeck (FB), Chris Wiltgen (BB), Nicole Wiltgen (BB). Congratulations to these officials for their service to high school football and basketball.

Crews Receive Play-offs: As of this writing, the following CRAOA members have received football tournament invitations. They are Jerry Winter, Pat Casey, Darwin Cartensen, Pat Dolphin, Dan Hilby, Jack Jaspers, Adrian Simonson, Bill Utterback, Rob Noble, Cory Burkle, Patrick St. John, Brian Phillips, Bradley White, Kevin Thorp, Charlie Plathe, Kent Sesker, Willie Guy, Tim Nye, Kevin Tann, Loren Wood, Mike Mitchell, Bill Yeisley, Fred Griffiths, Lenny Mais, Kevin Fink, Alan Averhoff, Rick Swan, Bill Wilson, Bill Yuska, Brandon Yuska, Curtis Olson, Larry Walderbach, Ron Peiffer, Mark Borchardt, Ben Sorden, Chip Weeces, Ed Johnson and Jack Jasper. Congratulations on the large number of crews chosen in the great season!

Reminder To Update The Secretary: We need your update for the 2009 football season. You can go into www.thearbiter.net and fill in your schedule. If you have trouble, please call Pinky for assistance. If you do not have e-mail, please fill out the sheet and return as soon as possible.

Basketball Season Upon Us: We have 7 applying basketball officials on Step II this year. We have 13 applying on Step I. We hope we can retain many of them in the future. We are in real need of more basketball officials in the area. We have nearly 600 games to assign just in the Metro area. That does not include the Varsity level. If anyone can work 3:45 p.m. games, please contact the Executive Secretary.

**Applying Football Members** this year are Bill Cooper, Bill Keel, Doug Kelley, Michael McElmeel, Tim Nye, Paul Witte. Transferring into the organization are Tim Connelly, Brad Paulsen, Kent Sesker, Jim Spicer and Kevin Tann. We had a total number of 87 in football.

Some Past History: 50 Years Ago: 1958 meeting was held at the Sheraton-Montrose Hotel. President was Les Grigg. Thirty-seven members, applicants and guests attended the dinner. Guests were Tait Cummins, Orville Rust, Len Paulu, Clarence Paulson, Bob Brooks and Gus Schrader. The Association had \$148.00 in the Bank Account. Bob Hahn was elected permanent secretary with a fee of \$50.00 per year. Applicants meeting all the requirements for approval as association members in football were Tom Swenson, Pat Loftus and Dick Jordan. Howard Wilfong was re-admited to membership Paul Maaske, Cornell basketball coach was the featured speaker.

45 Years Ago: 1963, the President was Ray Hamad. 43 members attended the dinner meeting at Sheraton-Montrose Hotel, Monday November 4. Jim Barenthin was dropped from the football membership because he failed to attend the required number of rules meetings. Treasurer reported a balance of \$83.25 on hand. Approval was given to Phil Dart, Jon Mullins, Harold Primrose, Ron Rohovit, Bob Ferguson and Dick Wagner. Transferred Approved went to Lloyd Spier, Dave Boggs, Con Eckstrom. Bill Quinby was elected as permanent secretary to replace Ed Lipp. Harold Still was the featured speaker.

WEB SITE: CRAOA.COM

**40 Years Ago:** 1968, Fall meeting and dinner were held at the Ranch Supper Club with over 100 people in attendance. Wives attended the dinner. President was Bill Brousard. Bill Reed, Commissioner of Big Ten, was the guest speaker. New approved officials were Marv Howsare and Tom Pumroy. It was recommended that a crew of four work football games for \$80.00 rather than a three-man crew for \$75.00. Treasurer reported we had \$216.53 on hand.

**35 Years Ago:** 1973, Bill Yeisley was president. It was approved that the Secretary pay be raised to \$200.00. New approved members to the organization were Len Ranson, Mike Allen, Al Albers, Vince Horst, Bob Hunter, Dennis Fitzgerald, and Richard Emmerson.

**30 Years Ago:** 1978, Len Ranson was president. The treasury had a balance of \$904.12. Lee Mulberry, Ray Panosh, Art Seaman, Herb Schaffer, David Bunting, Steve Streff and Larry Talbott were approved as members. Keith Koch and Dale MacMillian were dropped because they lacked the requirements for membership.

**25 Years Ago:** 1983, John Ferguson was president. Treasury balance was \$1,113.21, New officials approved for full membership were Pat McCarthy, Dan Moore, David Stevens. Darwin Krumrey and Doug Anderson transfered into the association.

**20 Years Ago:** 1988, president was Ev Petersen. Checking account had \$2,090.93. The following officials were approved for full membership: Paul Schuetz, Dave Stevens, Dan Hilby, Howard James, Bill Oliver and Ron Peiffer. Dick Jordan was approved for honorary membership. Duane Kramer was the guest banquet speaker.

.15 Years Ago: 1993, president was Harry Brown. The Fall Banquet was held at the Wyndham Five Seasons Hotel. We had a checking balance of \$1,967.67. Gene Smith, AD of Iowa State, was the featured speaker. The following official was approved for full membership: Bill Wilson. Jerry Tharp transfered to full membership: It was recommended that schools go to five-man crews. Ron Pexa requested honorary status.

10 Years Ago: 1998, Tom Cleveland was president. Checking account had \$2,859.00. 50 active football members, one step 2 and two transfers. 22 Step 1 members. In basketball we had 45 active members. D.J. LeRoy was the featured speaker at the banquet. Jeff DeLong, Bill Utterbach, and Richard Wheeler to full membership. Len Benhart went to Honorary Membership.

**5 Years Ago:** 2003, Dan Colbert was president. Checking account had a balance of \$4,446.70. We had Sixty-nine active membrers in football and 14 applying members. Brent Gasper, Fred Griffiths, Ethan Huisman, Kai Johnson, Craig Kissman, Curtis Olson, Patrick St. John and Ron Van Hoeck to full membership.

Three basketball officials dropped out of Association: They were: Rick Hersom (moved), James Potts (coaching) and Phil Ritchie (leg injury).

**Membership:** C.R.A.O.A. has 67 active football members and 19 applying members. In basketball there are 56 active members and 20 applying members. We are always in need of new members to help fulfill the demand for game officials. Work on getting a new member. Keep an application available and give one to those critics who are around.

Don't forget to input your 2009 Football Schedule into www.thearbiter.net.

<u>Plan to attend the 72nd Annual Awards Banquet to be held Thursday April 16, 2009!</u>