Cedar Rapids Athletic Officials Association

2012 Fall Newsletter

Seventy-Sixth Annual Awards Dinner: Everyone is invited to attend the Awards Banquet in the spring. There will be a cash bar. The featured speaker is TBA. A reminder that one meal is free with your membership. More information will be forwarded after the basketball season.

Plan to attend the Fall Business Meeting: The meeting will be held Monday, November 5th, at Washington High School at 7:00 p.m., Cafeteria. Remember you MUST attend one business each year-- this meeting or the spring meeting!

Longevity Awards: The following officials will be recognized at the banquet for longevity to CRAOA: 15-years--Alan Averhoff (FB); Ron Blocklinger (FB), Pat Casey (BB and FB), Pat Dolphin (FB), Kevin Fink (FB); Chris Heidelbauer (BB), Jack Jaspers (FB) and Rob Noble (FB). 10-years- Craig Murray (BB), Kim Patik (BB), and Terry Schneekloth (BB). 5-years-Jared Kesling, Brad Johnson (FB); Mick Langguth (BB); David Law (BB), Chris Oberbroeckling (BB); Dave Messerli (FB); Tyler Turner (BB), David VerWoert (FB); Bill Yuska (FB);and Brandon Yuska (FB). Congratulations to these officials for their service to high school football and basketball.

Crews Receive Play-offs: As of this writing, the following CRAOA members have received football tournament invitations. They are Todd Ambrosy, Scott Anderson, Alan Averhoff, David Baker, Ron Blocklinger, Mark Borchardt, Cory Burkle, Pat Casey, Kevin Fink, Scott Fritz, Fred Griffiths, Steve Hamilton, Dan Hilby, Jack Jaspers, Brad Johnson, John Johnson, Bill Keel, Mick Langguth, David Messerli, Mike Mitchell, Roman Mitchell, Rob Noble, Matt Nost, Tim Nve. Ron Peiffer, Joe Schmall, Kevin Schrader, Kent Sesker, Pat St. John, Rick Swan, Kevin Thorpe, Ron Van Hoeck, David Ver Woert, Larry Walderbach, Brad White, Bill Wilson, Jerry Winter, John Winter, Loren Wood, Bill Yuska, Brandon Yuska. Congratulations on the record number of crews chosen this year!

Reminder To Update The Secretary: We need your update for the 2013 football season. You can go into www.arbitersports.com and fill in your schedule. If you have trouble, please call Pinky for assistance. If you do not have e-mail, please fill out the sheet and return as soon as possible.

Basketball Season Upon Us: We have 12 applying basketball officials on Step II this year. We have 14 applying on Step I. We hope we can retain many of them in the future. We are in real need of more basketball officials in the area. We have 600 games to assign just in the Metro area. That does not include the Varsity level. If anyone can work 3:45 p.m. games, please contact the Executive Secretary.

New Applying Football Members this year are Gordon Freeman, Greg Gravert, Eric Hoekstra; Boyd James, Bryan Johnson, John Johnson, Shannon Johnson, Drannon Kenny, Kurt Schindler, Jeff Schneidermann, Dan Thomas. Transferring into the organization are David Baker and John BeGuhn.

New Step I officials are Todd Ambrosy, Bill Connolly, Mark Murphy, Troy Patrick, Mike Pond, Noel Wilbur. We had a total of 100 officials in football.

Several Basketball officials dropped from the Association: Jason Arends, Jim Hazelton, Jesse Holtan, Dan Kuempel, Mark Miller, Dale Morrison, Charles Porter, Doug Wick. Step II drops are: Willie Guy, Ron Mescall. Step I drops are: Quinn Becker, Jerry Frasher, Jason Habrock, Ryan Myers, Steve Vincent.

Membership: C.R.A.O.A. has 78 active football members, 20 Step I and II applying members and 2 transfers. In basketball there are 56 active members, 27 applying members and 2 transfers. We are always in need of new members to help fulfill the demand for game officials. Work on getting a new member. Keep an application available and give one to those critics who are around.

Some Past History: 50 Years Ago: 1962 meeting was held at the Sheraton-Montrose Hotel. President was Pat McPartland. Twenty-eight members, applicants and guests attended the dinner. Applicants meeting all the requirements for approval as association members in football were Dave Johnson, Dick Diehl, Larry Bowen, Arnold Paulsen and Jim Barenthin. Ken Blackman was the featured speaker.

45 Years Ago: 1967, the President was Bill Brousard. 57 members attended the dinner meeting at Ronneberg Inn in Amana. Bill Quinby reported a balance of \$358.73 on hand. Approval was given to Dick Potter, Bob Worley, Dennis Goettel, Bill Yeisley, George Bell and Claude Hare. Dick Swartzendruber and Bob Worley. President Ginsberg appointed a committee to review and possibly clarify/update the existing constitution.

40 Years Ago: 1972, Fall meeting and dinner were held at the Ronneberg Inn Restaurant in Amana. Wives attended the dinner. President was Harold Pinky Primrose. No officials were approved for membership. Past presidents received a plaque comemorating their year as President in the March meeting.

35 Years Ago: 1977, John Lowry was president. New approved members to the organization were Don Haugen, Jerry Kaalberg, Larry Palmer and William Spencer. The financial report showed a checking account balance of \$686.12. Dinner was at the Ronneberg with Jerry Markbreit, NFL official, as guest speaker.

30 Years Ago: 1982, Jim Meskimen was president. The treasury had a balance of \$793.26. Don Holladay, John Lilly, Mike Opheim, John Pickney and Robert Rife were approved as members. Doug Anderson, Alyn Johnson and Richard Johnson were approved as transfers.

25 Years Ago: 1987, Don Holladay was president. Treasury balance was \$1,935.62. Speaker at the banquet was Jerry Markbreit. New officials approved for full membership were Bill Anton, Ev Bowen and Craig O'Brien.

20 Years Ago: 1992, president was Don Haugen. Checking account had \$1,138.61. The following official was approved for full membership: Steve Pisarik. Don Ackerson was approved as a transfer.

15 Years Ago: 1997, president was Scott Freuhling. The Fall Banquet was held at the Wyndham Five Seasons Hotel. We had a balance of \$2,757.12. We had 64 active football officials, 46 basketball and 14 officials who do both. The following officials were approved for full membership: Robert Christenson, Jeff DeLong and Wayne Meyer. Three transfers were approved to full membership: Ron Blocklinger, Scott Kramer and Jack Jaspers. Banquet speaker was John Van Way.

10 Years Ago: 2002, president was Dan Hilby. The 66th Awards Banquet was held at the Five Seasons Crowne Plaza Hotel in Cedar Rapids. Top test scores went to Ron Peiffer with 99, Steve Hamilton and Joe Schmall had 98. Full membership went to Rob Hartin, Mike Jones and Ron Lanning. Pat Casey and Rob Noble were approved as transfers.

5 Years Ago: 2007, president was Pat Dolphin. The 71st Awards Banquet was held at the Touch of Class. Top Test scores went of Jeff Drahozal, John Pierce and Joe Schmall. Full Membership in football went to Eric Bergman, Cory Burkle, Greg Carradus, Phil Goddall, Jared Kesling, Michael Koolbeck, Lenny Mais, Russ Omar, David Sherman. Transfers were Terry Silberger, Ben Sorden and Chip Weeces.

Don't forget to input your 2013 Football Schedule into www.arbitersports.com.

<u>Plan to attend the 76th Annual Awards Banquet Site will be announced later.</u>

Join NASO to get your insurance protection!

www:craoa.com