Cedar Rapids Athletic Officials Association

2011 Fall Newsletter

Seventy-Fifth Annual Awards Dinner: Everyone is invited to attend the Awards Banquet. There will be a cash bar. The featured speaker is TBA. A reminder that one meal is free with your membership. More information will be forwarded after the basketball season.

Plan to attend the Fall Business Meeting: The meeting will be held Tuesday, November 1st, at Washington High School at 7:00 p.m., Cafeteria. Remember you MUST attend one business each year-- this meeting or the spring meeting!

Longevity Awards: The following officials will be recognized at the banquet for longevity to CRAOA: 50-years--Pinky Primrose. 30- years--Jerry Winter (FB).. 20-years--Jim Hazelton (BB), Charles Porter. (BB), 10-years- Sam Barrett (BB), Joel Duffy (BB). 5-years-Matt Bader (BB), Cory Burkle (FB), Lenny Mais (FB), Craig Murray (BB), Russ Omar (FB), Shane Remington (BB), Chip Weeces (FB). Congratulations to these officials for their service to high school football and basketball.

Crews Receive Play-offs: As of this writing, the following CRAOA members have received football tournament invitations. They are Scott Anderson, Alan Averhoff, Ron Blocklinger, Chad Bryant, Cory Burkle, Pat Casey, Bill Cooper, Jeff Frese, Fred Griffiths, Steve Hamilton, Dan Hilby, Jack Jaspers, Brad Johnson, John Johnson, Bill Keel, Jared Kesling, Mick Langguth, David Messerli, Brad Nost, Tim Nye, Rob Noble, Steve Pisarik, Mike Pownell, Joe Schmall, Kevin Schrader, Kent Sesker, David Sherman, Adrian Simonson, Pat St. John, Rick Swan, Ron Van Hoeck, Bob Varian, David Ver Woert, Bill Wilson, Jerry Winter, John Winter, Paul Witte, Loren Wood, Bill Yeisley, Bill Yuska, Brandon Yuska. Congratulations on the record number of crews chosen this year!

Reminder To Update The Secretary: We need your update for the 2012 football season. You can go into www.arbitersports.com and fill in your schedule. If you have trouble, please call Pinky for assistance. If you do not have e-mail, please fill out the sheet and return as soon as possible.

Basketball Season Upon Us: We have 9 applying basketball officials on Step II this year. We have 13 applying on Step I. We hope we can retain many of them in the future. We are in real need of more basketball officials in the area. We have 600 games to

assign just in the Metro area. That does not include the Varsity level. If anyone can work 3:45 p.m. games, please contact the Executive Secretary.

New Applying Football Members this year are Zach Bonar, Sam Burdt, Chuck Epperson, Braden Garrett, Kevin Johnson, Seth Leonard, Brent Klostermann, John Morgan, Calvin Norris, Cody Oakes. Transferring into the organization are Jeffry Downing and Mike Pownell. We had a total of 101 officials in football. That is a CRAOA record!

Several Basketball officials dropped from the Association: Steve Allman, Jim Barns, Dan Breitbach, Jerry Kadlec, Gordy Kennedy, Jeremy Kohlhaas, Nathan Pick, Randy Schulte, Marv Trachta, Chris Wiltgen, Travis Wiltgen.

Membership: C.R.A.O.A. has 73 active football members, 26 Step I and II applying members and 2 transfers. In basketball there are 53 active members, 24 applying members and 4 transfers. We are always in need of new members to help fulfill the demand for game officials. Work on getting a new member. Keep an application available and give one to those critics who are around.

Some Past History: 50 Years Ago: 1961 meeting was held at the Sheraton-Montrose Hotel. President was Ray Petrzelka. Thirty-three members, applicants and guests attended the dinner. Applicants meeting all the requirements for approval as association members in football were Arnold Espe, Bill Brousard and Vince Horst. Les Linn was dropped from the association for failure to attend the required meetings and take the test. Ed Lipp was elected to the Permanent Secretary position.

45 Years Ago: 1966, the President was Lou Ginsberg. 37 members attended the dinner meeting at Ronneberg Inn in Amana. "Tommy" Thomsen was the guest speaker. Bill Brousard reported a balance of \$292.00 on hand. Approval was given to Duane Anton, Dick Christy, Jack Christensen, Doug Moore and Jerry Tann. Temporary Approval went to Daryl Alwine, Don Ash, Charles Griffith, Claude Hare, Dick Potter, Dick Swartzendruber and Bob Worley. President Ginsberg appointed a committee to review and possibly clarify/update the existing constitution.

WEB SITE: CRAOA.COM

40 Years Ago: 1971, Fall meeting and dinner were held at the Ronneberg Inn Restaurant in Amana. Wives attended the dinner. President was Jim Schneekloth. Bernie Saggau was the guest speaker. New approved officials were Dan Crackel, Tom Daub, Bob Kramer, John Lawry, Jerry McCoy, Dan Mellenthin, Jim Miller, Jim Nelsen, Bill Nichols, John Pierce, Lee Spicher, Jerry Tharp, Wally Horn, Roger Huggins. Past Presidents will receive a plaque commorating their year as President. It was approved that new officials be presented a CRAOA patch upon gaining full approval status in the association.

35 Years Ago: 1976, Marv Howsare was president. New approved members to the organization were John Ferguson, Frank Sebetka, Larry Palmer. Dinner was at the Ronneberg with Jerry Markbreit, NFL official, as guest speaker.

30 Years Ago: 1981, Richard Koolbeck was president. The treasury had a balance of \$429.68. Don Holladay, Ron Pexa, John Pinckney, Tom Cleveland, John Ross and Jerry Winter were approved as members. Step Two to Larry Ebel, John Lilly, Dan Moore, Mike Opheim, and Robert Rife.

25 Years Ago: 1986, Randy Krecji was president. Treasury balance was \$979.75, Speaker at the banquet was Bill Quinby. New officials approved for full membership were Bill Kramer, Bill Lyman, Larry Mostaert, Don Allison, Don Burrows and Tom Vogel. To Step II were Bill Antons, John Baty, Ev Bowen, Terry Gibson, Terry Klooster and Craig O'Brien. Ron Rasmussen transfered from Davenport to full membership. Dave Brown was removed from roster for lack of attendance at meetings, test and dues. It was recommended that we go to a five-man crew for 4A and 3A games.

20 Years Ago: 1991, president was Mike Opheim. Checking account had \$2,646.11. The following officials were approved for full membership: Tim Connelly, Jeff Drahozal, Doug McArtor, Joe Schmall. Step I to Step II--Steve Pisarik. Bump Elliott was the guest banquet speaker. Transfer into the organization was Scott Anderson.

15 Years Ago: 1996, president was Larry Walderbach. The Fall Banquet was held at the Wyndham Five Seasons Hotel. We had a balance of \$2,098.53. We had 64 active football officials and 46 basketball and 14 officials who do both. The following officials were approved for full membership: Steve Louvar and Kevin Ridley. Two transfers were approved to full membership: Mark Borchardt and Rick Swan.

10 Years Ago: 2001, Jack Jaspers was president. The sixty-fifth banquet was held at the Ox Yoke Inn in Amana. Rick Hartzell, former CRAOA member and now a Big Ten Official, was the guest speaker. Matt Fandel, Chad Pohorsky, Mike Wennekamp were approved for full membership. Top test score went to Ron Peiffer. Dave Brousard was elected to the new Vice-President for Football.

5 Years Ago: 2006, Pat Dolphin was president. The seventh banquet was held at "The Touch of Class". Gary Dolphin, Voice of University of Iowa was the guest speaker. Matthew Bader (BB), Eric Bergman (FB), Cory Burkle (FB), Greg Carradus (FB), Phil Goodall (FB), Jeremy Kohlhaas (BB), Michael Koolbeck (FBBB), Lenny Mais (FB), Russ Omar (FB), Chad Osler (BB), Shane Remington (BB) and David Sherman (FB). wereapproved for full membership. Eighteen Football Officials worked the football play-offs.

Don't forget to input your 2012 Football Schedule into www.arbitersports.com.

<u>Plan to attend the 75th Annual Awards Banquet to be held Friday, April 14, 2012!</u>

Join NASO to get your insurance portection!