Cedar Rapids Athletic Officials Association

2010 Fall Newsletter

Seventy-Fourth Annual Awards Dinner: Everyone is invited to attend the Awards Banquet on Friday, April 15, 2011, with cocktails at 6:15 p.m. and dinner around 7:00 p.m. at A Touch of Class on Mount Vernon Road. There will be a cash bar. The featured speaker is TBA. A reminder that one meal is free with your membership. More information will be forwarded after the basketball season.

Plan to attend the Fall Business Meeting: The meeting will be held Tuesday, November 2nd, at Washington High School at 7:00 p.m., Cafeteria. Remember you <u>MUST</u> attend one business meeting either-- this meeting or the spring meeting!

Top Test Scores: The top Football Part II test score went to Joe Schmall with 98, Jeff Drahozal (97) and Ron Van Hoeck (96). Sixteen officials had 90+. Thirty-five officials scored 80+. Eighteen officials had 70+. Five officials failed the test. Eighteen officials have not taken the test.

Longevity Awards: The following officials will be recognized at the banquet for longevity to CRAOA: 45-years--Bill Yeisley (FB). 35-years--Don Haugen (FB). 30-years--Jerry Winter (BB). 20-years--Jeff Drahozal (FB), Steve Pisarik (FB), Joel Schmall (FB), and Deb Trimble (FB). 15-years--Mark Borchardt (FB), Jack Jaspers (BB), Mark Miller (BB), Adrian Simonson (FB), Rick Swan (FB) Brad White (FB), Loren Wood (FB). 10-years--Randy Long (BB), Mark Murphy (BB), Chad Pohorsky (FB), Kevin Schrader (FB). 5-years--Blake Brandt (BB), John Dvorak (BB), Matt Miller (BB), Travis Wiltgen (BB). Congratulations to these officials for their service to high school football and basketball.

Crews Receive Play-offs: As of this writing, the following CRAOA members have received football tournament invitations. They are Jerry Winter, Pat Casey, Pat Dolphin, Dan Hilby, Patrick St. John, Jaspers, Adrian Simonson, Bill Utterback, Rob Noble, Cory Burkle, Ron Blocklinger, Bradley White, Kevin Thorp, Charlie Plathe, Kent Sesker, Loren Wood, Chad Bryant, Bob Varian, Jared Kesling, David Sherman, Mike Mitchell, Fred Griffiths, Roman Mitchell, Brad Johnson, Kevin Fink, Alan Averhoff, Rick Swan, Bill Wilson, Bill Yuska, Brandon Yuska, Scott Fritz, Larry Walderbach, Ron Peiffer, Mark Borchardt, Chip Weeces, Dave Messerli, Paul Witte, Bill Keel, David Ver Woert and Jeff Frese. Congratulations on the record number of crews chosen this year!

Reminder To Update The Secretary: We need your update for the 2011 football season. You can go into www.arbitersports.com and fill in your schedule. If you have trouble, please call Pinky for assistance. If you do not have e-mail, please fill out the sheet and return as soon as possible.

Basketball Season Upon Us: We have 6 applying basketball officials on Step II this year. We have 19 applying on Step I. We hope we can retain many of them in the future. We are in real need of more basketball officials in the area. We have 600 games to assign just in the Metro area. That does not include the Varsity level. If anyone can work 3:45 p.m. games, please contact the Executive Secretary.

Applying Football Members this year are Vincent Abel, Chad Bryant, Cal Corrin, Jeff Frese, Chris Kenney, Roman Mitchell, Steve Schaub, Doug Wagner. Transferring into the organization is Scott Fritz. We had a total number of 96 in football.

One basketball official dropped out of Association: Allen Stekl (retired)

Membership: C.R.A.O.A. has 72 active football members and 24 applying members. In basketball there are 51 active members and 29 applying members. We are always in need of new members to help fulfill the demand for game officials. Work on getting a new member. Keep an application available and give one to those critics who are around.

Some Past History:

50 Years Ago: 1960, meeting was held at the Sheraton-Montrose Hotel. President was Don Menning. Thirty-two members, applicants and guests, were in attendance at the dinner. The secretary presented the names of applicants meeting all the requirements for approval as association members in football: Don Buchheister, Ed Criss, Ed Lipp, Len Novak, Ron Schirm, Bob Allison and Bill Moss.

45 Years Ago: 1965, the President was Bob Vrbicek. 37 members attended the dinner meeting at Ronneberg Inn in Amana. Bob Oldis of Iowa City was the guest speaker. Lou Ginsberg reported a balance of \$149.00 on hand. Approval was given to Ron Robertson, Dick Jordan and Dean Odekirk, with tem-

WEB SITE: CRAOA.COM

porary approval to Jerry Tann and Doug Moore. President Vrbicek chaired a discussion of the pros and cons of the association lining up the officials for Junior High and J.V. events. Many ideas were given.

- **40 Years Ago:** 1970, Fall meeting and dinner were held at the Ronneberg Inn Restaurant in Amana. President was Bud Paulsen. Fees and 4-man or 3-man FB officiating crews were topics discussed. New approved officials were: Don Ash, Pat Ehlert, Gary Huber, Jim Melake, Bill Ross, Dick Root, Al Schulte, Duane Voshell, Ed Heying, Dick Wagner, Roger White, Bob McCool and Randy Van Bogart. Probation to Harold Lyon, Bill Nichols and John Pierce.
- **35 Years Ago:** 1975, Bill Quinby was president. Applying members to the organization were: Albert Fiorentino, Don Haugen, Jim Hermann, Keith Koch, Joe Olson, Jerry Tann, Goerge Volk, Larry Walderbach, John Wilson, Richard Hejda and Don MacKay. Dinner was at the Ronneberg.
- **30 Years Ago:** 1980, Jim Patterson was president. The treasury had a balance of \$945.23. Jim Bolden, Dick Pohorsky, and transfer John Neiland were approved as members. Step Two to Tom Cleveland, Jerry Winter, Dan Madden and John Ross. Featured speaker at the banquet was Stan Jack, Athletic Director of Kirkwood Community College.
- 25 Years Ago: 1985, John Pierce was president. Treasury balance was \$475.00, with several schools not paying. Speaker at the banquet was Gus Schrader. New officials approved for full membership were: Dave Brown, Warren Byerly and Al Gremm. Tom Vogel was to make a new sketch for a 50-year patch.
- **20 Years Ago:** 1990, Jerry Winter was president. Checking account had \$2,781.34. The following officials were approved for full membership: Tom Bach, Deb Boulet, Todd Claussen, Scott Fruehling, Jeff Holderman, Lon Olejniczak, Kevin Thorp and Rich Wilson.
- **15 Years Ago:** 1995, Lynn Hughes was president. The Fall Banquet was held at the Ox Yoke Inn in Amana. Top test score went to James Patterson with a 98. Longevity Awards went to Len Benhart (50 years), Bill Brousard and Vince Horst (35 years), Jack Christensen (30 years), Don Allison and Don Burrows (10 years), Jeff Drahozal, Doug McArtor and Joe Schmall (5 years). Three crews worked the play-offs.
- **10 Years Ago:** 2000, Dick Pohorsky was president. The sixty-fourth banquet was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Bill Quinby, former NFL Official and CRAOA member, was the guest speaker. Kevin

Darrow, Duane Detert, Ken Juran, Marv Lincoln, Steve Mather, Kevin Schrader, Loren Wood were approved for full membership. Top test score went to Kevin Ridley and Brian Phillips.

5 Years Ago: 2005, Jeff Frese was president. The sixty-ninth banquet was held at the Ox-Yoke in Amana. Athletic Director of UNI, Rick Hartzel, was the featured speaker. Blake Brandt (FB-BB), Mike Braughton (FB), John Dvorak (BB), Greg Marling (FB), James Potts (BB), Steve Rucker (BB) and Travis Wiltgen (BB) were approved for full membership. Matt Miller as a transfer. Top test schores went to Cory Burkle and Chris Heidelbauer (BB) and Marv Lincoln (FB).

Don't forget to input your 2012 Football Schedule into www.arbitersports.com.

Plan to attend the 74th Annual Awards Banquet to be held Friday, April 15, 2011!

Join NASO to get your insurance portection!